The Port of London Study Group – which meets weekly to explore the history, heritage and archaeology of London’s docklands areas – now has a regular home at Canada Water Library. Sessions are held on Mondays from 11am. Programme details on the group’s website.
Today is the 75th anniversary of the World War II bombing of Millstream House in Jamaica Road.
By looking at the brickwork, you can see where the building has been patched up.
Curiously, when the building was restored in 1947, a gargoyle recovered from the debris of air raid damage at the Palace of Westminster was included in the works.
Surrey Docks Farm moved to its present site 29 years ago. Here’s how Thames News (the regional ITV news programme) reported the farm’s relocation in June 1986:
Earlier this week Corbett’s Wharf on Bermondsey Wall East was declared to be part of a conservation area.
By coincidence, the owners of the Thames News (ITV regional news) archive have just published this report from November 1982 of a protest at Corbett’s Wharf by Peter Tatchell – then Bermondsey Labour’s prospective parliamentary candidate – against the London Docklands Development Corporation (LDDC).
Well worth a watch.
British Movietone recently published much of its newsreel archive on YouTube.
Among the local gems is this 1936 aerial footage of a large fire at Surrey Docks.
Earlier this week Andie Byrnes published a blog post about damage to the former Pumphouse Museum building at Lavender Pond.
From the Thames News archive:
A post-medieval sundial – believed to be for maritime navigation – and a token with a boat carving have been found at the Chambers Wharf site during an archaeological investigation in preparation for the Thames Tideway Tunnel project.
The items, thought to be from the 17th or 18th century, were found during an evaluation to gather information on potential archaeological finds at the site.
Brigitte Buss, archaeology advisor to the project, said: “The nautical nature of these delightful chance finds highlights how vital the river has been to London throughout the ages, and how important our work – including our archaeology and heritage investigations – is to reconnect London with the river.”
The preliminary investigations are still at an early stage under the supervision of archaeologists from Museum of London Archaeology (MOLA) and the Thames Tideway Tunnel in-house archaeology and heritage team, Ken Whittaker and Brigitte Buss.